remember

NYCtwintowerswallcoo
I grew up in central New Jersey. For 27 years of my life, this was what I saw every time I went to New York City. Seeing the Twin Towers meant I was heading to a magical, inspiring, bohemian, invincible place of art, theater, architecture, street vendors, music, nightclubs, weirdos, sex, drugs, and roasted peanuts. It is impossible to erase this image and the feeling of anticipation from my memory.

I still look for the World Trade Center towers in the Manhattan skyline. Even though I know they’re gone, I can’t help it. I want them to still be there.

That day, I didn’t lose any loved ones, even though I have dozens of friends and family who could have been there. That day, I was at work in Boston, so I didn’t feel the dust from the towers on my skin or in my home. That day changed countless lives forever. That day is a day I want my children to understand… someday.

How To Talk To Children About 9/11 from Child Mind Institute

One thought on “remember

  1. Reblogged this on when working stops working and commented:

    On this day every year, my heart hurts and there’s a perpetual lump in my throat. I wrote this 3 years ago today, thinking about how I would talk to my kids about 9/11, and they are now old enough to just begin to understand.

    We lost almost 3000 lives that day. It’s disrespectful that some decry the remembrances and memorials as political, pro-nationalist propaganda. Today is personal, and should make us think about how we treat each other.

    To paraphrase philosopher and poet, John Lennon: No countries, no religion, imagine all the people living life in peace.

what do you think?

