keeping house

My husband is extremely good at a lot of things: throwing rocks far distances, building campfires, dadding, and cleaning our house. I thought I was pretty good at cleaning, and perhaps I was once, but now I get too caught up in the details. Like scrubbing the grime off the kitchen floor under the oven, scraping the stickers off the walls with a blade, and putting all the Lego heads back on their proper bodies. Or colorizing the Crayola box. (It may be a subconscious procrastination technique.)

Give my husband 2 hours, and our house will be ready for company. Kind of. Minus the fluffed toss pillows in the living room, pressed bed linens, fresh flowers on the dining table, but I’ll take it. He’s a keeper, my husband. 🙂

In the interest of doing my share, I’m trying to get better at this “stay-at-home-mom” gig, housekeeping included. I can dress up a bed, organize plastic food containers, and vacuum up goldfish crackers from the depths of the sofa, but somehow, I am not capable of getting the whole house clean in a reasonable amount of time.

So I was inspired when I came across this cleaning calendar at Little Green Notebook. A carryover from my previous employed life, I cannot complete a project without first breaking it down into its composite tasks. I need a to-do list, an aesthetically-pleasing and color-coded one. I’ll make one today, and maybe next week the house will be clean.

Maybe.

-- via littlegreennotebook.blogspot.com

2 thoughts on “keeping house

  1. :at the end of the day” nobody will remember you for how clean your house is…or how messy. They will remember you for what a loving mother you are, for the creative person you are, for the grace under pressure that you show.

what do you think?

