the lattice of coincidence

amsterdam bike

For months, there’s been an old-ish bike chained up to a post across from the Faulkner Hospital. I developed a mild obsession with it, because it looked like it could be the Dutch beater bike I’ve fancied riding since visiting Amsterdam years ago: step-through frame, dark red, fenders, possibly even single-speed. Just the other night, I hypothesized taking a bolt-cutter to the chain and walking off with my prize — who would suspect a late-30s mom with a 2-year old of being a bike thief? Alas, or perhaps fortunately, when I drove by this morning, the bike was gone.

The lattice of coincidence… Today’s post from my friend’s amazing blog: One Year in the Life of a Bicycle.

what do you think?

